To file for divorce in the state of Arkansas, you or your spouse must have lived in the state at least 60 days before you file for divorce and for at least 3 months until the final judgment is granted.
Arkansas is a “fault divorce” state, so the person requesting the divorce must prove there are grounds for divorce. The most common grounds for divorce are general indignities and separation for at least 18 months. The separation should be voluntary for at least one of the spouses. During the separation period you and your spouse cannot live together for even one day.
Under Arkansas law, a divorce may be either contested or uncontested. A contested divorce is when you and your spouse do not agree on the reasons and terms of getting a divorce, Because of the disagreement, it is necessary that the judge presiding over the case hold a hearing. An uncontested divorce does not require the judge to hold a hearing.
In most cases, the person filing for divorce in Arkansas must wait at least 30 days from the date the complaint was filed to finalize the divorce. If the plaintiff and defendant agree on all issues of the marriage, then the case would be considered to be uncontested and may be finalized without a hearing.
Arkansas divorce forms with no children involved:
- Arkansas Complaint For Divorce
- Arkansas Entry of Appearance, Waiver of Service of Summons, and Waiver of Notice
- Affidavit of Service by Mail
- Arkansas Decree of Divorce
Feel like you need a divorce lawyer? Visit our Divorce Lawyers in Arkansas page.